Councillors and wards

Lake Macquarie City Council is divided into three wards: North, East and West.

All Lake Macquarie residents, who are 18 years of age or over, are eligible to enrol through the State Electoral Office and vote in the local government elections.

Residents who are enrolled to vote, elect a Mayor and four councillors to represent their respective ward. Ordinary elections are held every four years, usually on the second Saturday of September. This term will be three years due to the 2020 elections being postponed until 2021.

All elected members must lodge a declaration listing all political donations received and electoral expenditure incurred. A register of these declarations is available on the Electoral Commission NSW website.

The next local government election will be held in September 2024 and will be administered by the NSW Electoral Commissioner as resolved by Lake Macquarie City Council at its meeting on 27 February 2023. 
To meet requirements under the NSW Local Government Act 1993 to ensure the difference in the number of voters across each ward does not exceed 10 per cent, Council’s ward boundaries are changing for the next election.

Mayor and Deputy Mayor

North Ward

East Ward

West Ward

ALP - Australian Labor Party
LIB - Liberal Party of Australia
LMIND - Lake Mac Independents

Federal and State Members

Find more information and contact details for Hunter and Shortland Federal electorates.

For contact details for State Members of Lake Macquarie, Charlestown, Wallsend, Cessnock and Swansea electorates visit