Councillors and wards

Lake Macquarie City Council is divided into three wards: North, East and West.

All Lake Macquarie residents, who are 18 years of age or over, are eligible to enrol through the State Electoral Office and vote in the local government elections.

Residents who are enrolled to vote, elect a Mayor and four councillors to represent their respective ward. Ordinary elections are held every four years, usually on the second Saturday of September.

All elected members must lodge a declaration listing all political donations received and electoral expenditure incurred. A register of these declarations is available on the Electoral Commission NSW website.

Learn more about the role of the Mayor and Councillors by reading the information below.

Mayor of Lake Macquarie

Introducing Mayor of Lake Macquarie, Councillor Kay Fraser

Councillor profiles

Find your local Councillor

State and Federal members

Find your State and Federal Members of Parliament


Council is divided into three wards; North, East and West

Page last updated: 12 December 2016