Jen Denzin: Strawberry Feather Star

0S4A9034 - Jen Denzin Strawberry Feather Star 1200x723.jpg

Strawberry Feather Star promises to be a MAP mima summer holiday foyer spectacular!

Bouncing off the Lake's surface and into the site, this installation is all things shiny-shiny and magical cosmic sea critters!

It is a playful response to the recent discovery of a deep-sea creature in the Atlantic Ocean which has 20 arms and looks more like an alien than an ocean dweller.

Strawberry Feather Star suggest possibilities for yet-to-be discovered species lurking in the deepest recesses of Lake Macquarie. The installation is a bit marine-biology-lab meets underwater-garden-folly in a disco!

Jen Denzin has exhibited regularly in Newcastle for over 15 years. She uses commonplace materials such as plastic buckets, drinking straws, cable ties and tacky mementos to construct gaudy assemblages and vibrant environments.

Image: Jen Denzin Strawberry Feather Star 2023. Courtesy MAP mima.

When

  • Saturday, 09 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 10 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 15 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 16 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 17 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 22 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 23 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 24 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 27 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Thursday, 28 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 29 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 30 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 31 December 2023 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 03 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Thursday, 04 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 05 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 06 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 07 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 10 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Thursday, 11 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 12 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 13 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 14 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 17 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Thursday, 18 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 19 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 20 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 21 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 24 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Thursday, 25 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 26 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, 27 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 28 January 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 02 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 03 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 04 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 09 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 10 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 11 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 16 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 17 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 18 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Friday, 23 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 24 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Sunday, 25 February 2024 | 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM

Location

Multi-Arts Pavilion, mima, 96 Creek Reserve Road, Speers Point 2284  View in Google Maps

Google Map

Add to Calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email Address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.

Invitation Date*(Required)

This event occurs over multiple dates. Please select which date you want an invite for.