dWELL design competition

green terrace (Medium).jpg

Our homes are central to our lives. They reflect our lifestyle and contribute to our wellbeing.

We want to set the benchmark for future housing, creating a more liveable City where sustainability and wellbeing are priorities.

About the competition

dWELL is a $40,000 nationwide home design competition to showcase next-generation urban housing in Australia.

We've asked industry professionals and tertiary students to design a new style of home with wellness, innovation, affordability and sustainability at its heart.

The dWELL competition has two categories: one for professional architects and building designers, the other for teams comprising at least one architecture student (or similar relevant discipline).

Entries are currently being judged by a panel of experts, industry leaders and community representatives.

Winning entries will be showcased nationally as an example of what is possible, what is practical and what is affordable in providing future housing for all Australians. We aim to work with the winner to make their vision a reality, creating a bricks-and-mortar home based on their winning design on a parcel of Council-owned land in Dudley.

Stage 1 submissions closed 5pm Friday 2 October.

Please submit further enquiries to dWELL@lakemac.nsw.gov.au

View the competition brief(PDF, 6MB) Read our FAQs


Chris Tucker

Chris Tucker

The School of Architecture and the Built Environment
University of Newcastle

Juliet Grant.jpg

Juliet Grant

NSW President
Planning Institute of Australia (NSW)

Steve Mann profile.jpg

Steve Mann

Chief Executive Officer
Urban Development Institute of Australia NSW

Maxine Stokes

Maxine Smith

Block contestant 2014

Karstan Smith

Karstan Smith

Block contestant 2014 and carpenter